Michael J. Malone
Douglas County Law Library

Judicial and Law Enforcement Center
111 East 11th Street
Lawrence, Kansas 66044
Phone: (785) 838-2477
Fax: (785) 838-2455

Welcome to the Website of the
Michael J. Malone
Douglas County Law Library

The Law Library is open to everyone. The public has access 12 hours per week (see Library Hours page) and attorneys who have been issued keys have access 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. The Library provides print resources for a Kansas-based practice and electronic resources including the WestlawNext on-line legal database. All Library users have free access to all of the Library's resources.

Find Us on Facebook


> Election Results for the Michael J. Malone Douglas County Law Library Board of Trustees, for the 2017/2019 term: The new President of the Board is Sarah Warner.        

The other attorneys currently serving as members of the Board for the 2017/2019 term are Curtis Barnhill, Mike Jilka, Kyle Brittingham and Matthew Donnelly.        

 > New Library Manager:  Timothy Kelly, M.L.S., 1975, Emporia State University, and J.D., 1987, Washburn University,  is the new librarian at the Michael J. Malone Douglas County Law Library.

> New Public Hours:   Monday 1-4, Tuesday 10-1, Wednesday 11-2, Thursday 10-1, Friday CLOSED

> Free Lexis Advance Training and CLEs for Attorneys: Attorneys may take advantage of the law library's contract with LexisNexis to get free individual training on legal research using Lexis Advance. The half-hour one-on-one online training sessions are free and are conducted by LexisNexis trainers.

Attorneys also have access to free online CLE sessions through the law library's contract with LexisNexis that are approved for credit in Kansas and Missouri.

For more information on how to access the free training and the CLEs, contact the library.

Did You Know?

Founded in August 25, 1855, Douglas County was one of the first counties organized in Kansas and, for many years, was one of the most populace and wealthy counties in the state. But it still did not have a courthouse at the close of the 19th century. In 1899 the voters approved levying additional real estate tax to pay for a courthouse. Four lots located at Massachusetts and Quincy (11th) Streets were offered by local banker J.B. Watkins, free of charge. The County Commissioners, J.C. Watts, Chairman, B. E. Moskinson and A.J. Parnell, resolved to take his offer on February 6, 1902 and accepted the deed to the land on March 29.

"Did You Know?" is a service of the Law Library. Every month, a bit of Law Library trivia will be posted in the Law Library and here on the Law Library's website. The previous month's "Did You Know?" tidbit will also be published in the Law Library's E-Mail Newsletter. We hope our service will help improve communication between the Law Library and its users.


Mission Statement

The mission of the Douglas County Law Library is to provide legal and law related resources through a law library, focused on a Kansas practice, conveniently located in the Judicial Center for use by the bar, bench and public.

Policy Manual

The Law Library's Policy Manual is available by clicking here.

The Douglas County Law Library was established under the auspices of the District Court of Douglas County, Kansas, pursuant to Kansas Statutes 20-3126 through 20-3132, and opened on May 1, 2003. On August 28, 2014, it was renamed the Michael J. Malone Douglas County Law Library for the Honorable Michael J. Malone, who was the driving force behind the establishment of the Law Library. The Law Library is open to the general public as noted on the Law Library Hours page on this website. Licensed attorneys in Douglas County who have paid their annual Law Library Registration Fee and been issued a key have access 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Attorneys should contact the Library about getting a key.

Attorneys who have not paid their Registration Fee are prohibited from filing any and all transactions with the Clerk of the District Court until the fee is paid. They also are ineligible to run for one of the five positions reserved for attorneys on the Michael J. Malone Douglas County Law Library Board of Trustees and to vote in elections for those positions.

For more information, contact the Law Library at: info@douglascolawlibrary.org.

Comments to: Webmaster: Timothy Kelly, Law Librarian, Michael J. Malone Douglas County Law Library, Judicial and Law Enforcement Center, 111 East 11th Street, Lawrence, KS  66044.

Valid HTML 4.01!

Created: November 2002; Revised: March 2, 2017